k.m-05546.jpg

Meaning

Liam Gillick, 2009

The MIT Press
English, softcover, 188 pages, 14 x 21.5 cm
ISBN 978-0-262-51351-7

Description

Liam Gillick emerged as part of the generation of “Young British Artists” who energized the British art scene in the 1980s and 1990s. He is now one of the most influential artists in all of contemporary art. Artist, writer, curator, and provocateur, Gillick explores how an artistic practice can be conducted and represented, while at the same time questioning curatorial practice and the conventions of applied design.
This reader coincided with a year-long, multi-venue, mid-career retrospective that served both as a continuous investigation into Gillick's practice and an in-depth study of his work. The book offers a range of critical perspectives on Gillick's work. Among them: political scientist Chantall Mouffe develops her notion of radical democracy and antagonism; sociologist Maurizio Lazzarato (whose theorization of immaterial labor influenced Gillick) comments on the current economic crisis; philosopher and artist Benoît Maire links Gillick to continental philosophy; and Johanna Burton questions Gillick's practice in the context of feminist critique.

Edited by Monika Szewczyk, Stefan Kalmár, Dominic Molon, Beatrix Ruf, and Nicolaus Schafhausen.
Texts by Peio Aguirre, Johanna Burton, Nikolaus Hirsch, John Kelsey, Maurizio Lazzarato, Maria Lind, Sven Lütticken, Benoît Maire, Chantal Mouffe, Barbara Steiner, Marcus Verhagen, Stefan Kalmár, Dominic Molon, Beatrix Ruf, Nicolaus Schafhausen, and Monica Szewczyk.
Designed by Martha Stutteregger.

Price € 12.00
pageview counter pixel

k.m-05546.jpg

Meaning

Liam Gillick, 2009

The MIT Press
Englisch, Taschenbuch, 188 Seiten, 14 x 21,5 cm
ISBN 978-0-262-51351-7

Beschreibung

Liam Gillick gehört zur Generation der Young British Artists, die in den 1980er und 1990er Jahren die britische Kunstszene belebten. Heute ist er einer der einflussreichsten Künstler in der zeitgenössischen Kunst. Als Künstler, Schriftsteller, Kurator und Provokateur erforscht Gillick, wie eine künstlerische Praxis aussehen und repräsentiert werden kann, während er gleichzeitig die kuratorische Praxis und die Konventionen des angewandten Designs hinterfragt.
Dieser Reader fiel mit einer einjährigen, mehrere Ausstellungsorte umfassenden Mid-Career Retrospektive zusammen, die sowohl eine kontinuierliche Untersuchung von Gillicks Praxis als auch eine eingehende Studie seines bisherigen Schaffens darstellte. Das Buch bietet eine Reihe von kritischen Perspektiven auf Gillicks Arbeit. Unter Anderem: Die Politikwissenschaftlerin Chantall Mouffe entwickelt ihren Begriff von radikaler Demokratie und Antagonismus; der Soziologe Maurizio Lazzarato (dessen Theoretisierung immaterieller Arbeit Gillick beeinflusste) kommentiert die aktuelle Wirtschaftskrise; der Philosoph und Künstler Benoît Maire verbindet Gillick mit der kontinentalen Philosophie; und Johanna Burton hinterfragt Gillicks Praxis im Kontext feministischer Kritik.

Herausgegeben von Monika Szewczyk, Stefan Kalmár,, Dominic Molon, Beatrix Ruf und Nicolaus Schafhausen.
Texte von Peio Aguirre, Johanna Burton, Nikolaus Hirsch, John Kelsey, Maurizio Lazzarato, Maria Lind, Sven Lütticken, Benoît Maire, Chantal Mouffe, Barbara Steiner, Marcus Verhagen, Stefan Kalmár, Dominic Molon, Beatrix Ruf, Nicolaus Schafhausen und Monica Szewczyk.
Gestaltet von Martha Stutteregger.

Preis € 12,00
pageview counter pixel